Dawn’s Blog

December 14, 2008

The Boy Who Finger-pointed Wordless Books

Filed under: Uncategorized — by dt78830 @ 7:52 pm

Sarah wanted me to post about the boy in my kindergarten reading group who wanted some words to finger-point in wordless picture books.  I mentioned this briefly in one of my other posts but it is a cute story.  I started this group with wordless books and taught them how to read the pictures.  When I began working with the children in September they were not reading level A books at the time so we considered them Early Emergent.  I had this one little boy who would read the pictures but he tracked at the bottom of the page using his finger as if there were words there.  He finally asked me why we did not have words.  I believe these books greatly benefited the students in their reading.  They have come a long way with some of them now reading on a  Level A and one child on a Level B.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

