Dawn’s Blog

November 18, 2008

Wordless Books by Cassady

Filed under: Uncategorized — by dt78830 @ 3:34 am

I agree with Cassady that “wordless books enhance creativity, vocabulary, and language development for readers of all ages, at all stages of cognitive development, and in all content areas.”  I have used wordless books with my kindergartners.  Even for kinders it is a new experience.  They are used to me reading text or words from the book.  They may not know how to read the words but they think words should be on the page.  When we read a wordless picture book, I try to get them started as I begin telling the story and then they catch on.  Several weeks ago, I was working with one of my small reading groups and I chose a book for my guided reading that was a wordless picture book.  One little boy said, “There are no words.”  He finally was able to tell the story but wanted to point at the bottom of the page as if he were reading words.  This group is my struggling readers.  They were not currently reading on a Level A so I decided to begin with some picture books.  I believe this encouraged them.  They were able to read the pictures and were successful.  I even heard one child putting some expression into her reading as she read the pictures.  I can see how these books would benefit all ages. 

I liked the idea of Robert reading the story into a tape recorder and then typing it and then pasting the sentences on the story. 

I am glad the article listed some wordless books.  I am familiar with “Pancakes for Breakfast” and “The Snowman.”

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

